Anton Chekhov 1860—1904

Anton Chekhov


Anton Pavlovich Chekhov was a Russian physician, dramaturge and author who is considered to be among the greatest writers of short stories in history. His career as a dramatist produced four classics and his best short stories are held in high esteem by writers and critics. Chekhov had at first written stories only for financial gain, but as his artistic ambition grew, he made formal innovations which have influenced the evolution of the modern short story. His originality consists in an early use of the stream-of-consciousness technique, later adopted by James Joyce and other modernists, combined with a disavowal of the moral finality of traditional story structure. He made no apologies for the difficulties this posed to readers, insisting that the role of an artist was to ask questions, not to answer them.

Available eBooks

  • thumbnail

    Notebooks of Anton Chekhov (1921)

    This volume consists of notes, themes, and sketches for works which Anton Chekhov intended to write, and are characteristic of the methods of his more »

  • thumbnail

    The Cook's Wedding and Other Stories (1885)

    With twenty-five stories, The Cook’s Wedding and Other Stories provides a great introduction to the ironic, moving, and thought-provoking tales of more »

  • thumbnail

    The Darling (1899)

    The Darling is a short story by Russian author Anton Chekhov, first published in 1899 in London, it follows the life of a woman who is referred to as more »

  • thumbnail

    The Duel and Other Stories (1891)

    Six selections from the famed Russian showcase his natural aptitude for detail, dialogue, humor, and compassion. Includes The Darling, a poignant piece more »

  • thumbnail

    The Horse-Stealers (1890)

    Twenty-two lesser-known short stories from Anton Chekhov including; The Horse-Stealers, Ward No. 6, The Petchenyeg, A Dead Body, A Happy Ending, The more »

  • thumbnail

    The House with the Mezzanine (1896)

    The House with the Mezzanine features a romantic story of a young artist and Eugenia, one of the two sisters living in the house. Eugenia longs to more »

  • thumbnail

    The Lady with the Dog and Other Stories (1899)

    During the last ten years of his life, Anton Chekhov penned his great plays, spent time treating the sick, and wrote a small number of stories that are more »

  • thumbnail

    The Schoolmaster (1886)

    This book contains the following stories: The Schoolmaster, Enemies, The Examining Magistrate, Betrothed, From the Diary of a Violent-Tempered Man, In more »

  • thumbnail

    The Schoolmistress (1897)

    The Schoolmistress and Other Stories contains twenty-one tales by Russian master of drama and the short story, Anton Chekhov. Among the stories is one more »

  • thumbnail

    The Seagull (1896)

    The Seagull is the first of Anton Checkov’s four full-length plays. It explores the romantic and artistic tension in the relationships between a young more »

  • thumbnail

    The Wife and other stories (1892)

    In this classic short story, Chekhov takes a snapshot of the Russian life, illuminating the harsh complexities and yet subtle simplicities that more »

  • thumbnail

    The Witch and Other Stories (1886)

    Anton Checkhov’s The Witch and other stories is one of his many collection of short stories. Included in this book are fifteen of Chekhov’s; The Witch, more »

  • thumbnail

    Uncle Vanya (1897)

    This structurally and psychologically compact drama takes place on an estate in 19th-century Russia, exploring the complex interrelationships between a more »