epubBooks Logo


by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Series Description

A series of three books by Edgar Rice Burroughs. Billy Byrne is a low class American born in Chicago’s ghetto and grows up a thief and a mugger. “Billy was a mucker, a hoodlum, a gangster, a thug, a tough”, he is not chivalrous nor kind, and has only meagre ethics - never giving evidence against a friend or leaving someone behind. He chooses a life of robbery and violence, disrespecting those who work for a living and has a deep hatred for wealthy society.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. The Mucker (1914)

    The adventures of Billy Byrne, thug and gunman, in the underworld of Chicago and San Francisco, and on his mysterious cruise to the unexplored islands... read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. The Return of the Mucker (1916)

    The remarkable story of Billy Byrne, the vicious, hardened Chicago thug and ruffian who, answering to the magical touch of a great love, gradually... read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. The Oakdale Affair (1917)

    A robbery, marriage, and disappearance of a young girl have struck the town of Oakdale, but are things as they really seem? The beautiful young daughter... read more »