The Pimpernel

by Emma Orczy

Series Description

The Scarlet Pimpernel is a series of adventure novels by Emma Orczy set during the Reign of Terror following the start of the French Revolution. The title character, Sir Percy Blakeney, represents the original “hero with a secret identity” that inspired subsequent literary creations such as Don Diego de la Vega (Zorro) and Bruce Wayne (Batman). Taking into account occasional discrepancies in the dates of events (real and fictional), this series is set out in approximate chronological order.

6 ebooks from 16 titles available

  • thumbnail

    1. The Laughing Cavalier (1913)

    The year is 1623, the place Haarlem in the Netherlands. Diogenes - the first Sir Percy Blakeney, the Scarlet Pimpernel’s ancestor - and his friends more »

  • thumbnail

    3. The Scarlet Pimpernel (1905)

    ‘Who is this man, this Scarlet Pimpernel?’ Each day this question grew more pressing to the rulers of the French Revolution. Only this man and his band more »

  • thumbnail

    5. The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1919)

    More adventures amongst the terrors of revolutionary France. No one has uncovered the identity of the famous Scarlet Pimpernel - no one except his wife more »

  • thumbnail

    7. The Elusive Pimpernel (1908)

    It is the early days of the French Republic, and Robespierre’s revolutionaries find their wicked schemes repeatedly being thwarted. It appears that Sir more »

  • thumbnail

    8. Lord Tony's Wife (1917)

    Lord Antony Dewhurst is ‘a splendid fellow - a fine sportsman, a loyal gentleman’. The young gallant is also Percy’s close friend and a lieutenant in more »

  • thumbnail

    12. Sir Percy Hits Back (1927)

    The League is up to their old tricks again, but this time they have the help of a local simple girl from the country, Fleurette. When she and her love more »