Divine Comedy

by Dante

Series Description

The Divine Comedy is an epic poem written by Dante Alighieri between 1308 and his death in 1321 and is divided into three parts: Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso. (Hell, Purgatory, Paradise) It’s widely considered the preeminent work of Italian literature and is seen as one of the greatest works of world literature. The poem’s imaginative and allegorical vision of the afterlife is a culmination of the medieval world-view as it had developed in the Western Church. These volumes include many illustrations.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. Divine Comedy: Hell (1814)

    The first part of Dante’s Divine Comedy (translated by Henry Francis Cary), the “Inferno” (or “Hell”) begins on the night before Good Friday in the year...read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. Divine Comedy: Purgatory (1814)

    The second volume of the Divine Comedy presents the Purgatory. Continuing the story of the poet’s journey through the medieval Other World under the gui...read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. Divine Comedy: Paradise (1814)

    The final volume of Dante’s, Divine Comedy; Paradise. Having plunged to the uttermost depths of Hell and climbed the Mount of Purgatory, Dante ascends t...read more »