epubBooks Logo

Kingdom of Ruritania

by Anthony Hope

Series Description

Ruritania is a fictional country in central Europe which forms the setting for three books by Anthony Hope. Although the first and third are set in the recent past—between the 1850s and 1880s—the second is set in the 1730s, although it refers to subsequent events that happened between that time and the time of writing. The kingdom is also the setting for sequels and variations by other writers. It lent its name to a genre of adventure stories known as Ruritanian romances, and is used in academia to refer to a hypothetical country.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. The Prisoner of Zenda (1894)

    If historically tinged action-adventure is your genre of choice, hang on to your hat -- you're in for a wild ride. In The Prisoner of Zenda, Anthony... read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. The Heart of Princess Osra (1896)

    The Heart of Princess Osra is part of Anthony Hope's trilogy of novels set in the fictional country of Ruritania and which spawned the genre of... read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. Rupert of Hentzau (1894)

    Rupert of Hentzau is the dark sequel to The Prisoner of Zenda. Full of humor and swashbuckling feats of heroism, the tale is also a satire on the... read more »