George Gissing 1857—1903

George Gissing


George Robert Gissing was an English novelist who published 23 novels between 1880 and 1903. Gissing also worked as a teacher and tutor throughout his life. He published his first novel, Workers in the Dawn, in 1880. His best known novels, which are published in modern editions, include The Nether World (1889), New Grub Street (1891), and The Odd Women (1893).

Available eBooks

  • thumbnail

    New Grub Street (1891)

    For many readers New Grub Street is Gissing’s masterpiece. If this is not accepted, it remains beyond doubt one of his most interesting and most more »

  • thumbnail

    The Nether World (1889)

    The Nether World, generally regarded as the finest of Gissing’s early novels, is a highly dramatic, sometimes violent tale of man’s caustic vision more »

  • thumbnail

    The Odd Women (1893)

    Virginia and Alice Madden are odd women’, growing old alone in Victorian England with no prospect of finding love. Forced into poverty by the sudden more »