In Search of Lost Time

by Marcel Proust

Series Description

A novel in seven volumes, recounting the experiences of the Narrator while growing up, participating in society, falling in love, and learning about art. Prousts most prominent work, known for its theme of involuntary memory, the most famous example being the “episode of the madeleine.” The novel began to take shape in 1909 with Proust working on it until his final illness in 1922. The last three volumes contain oversights and fragmentary or unpolished passages as they existed in draft form at the death of the author; the publication of these parts was overseen by his brother Robert.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. Swann's Way (1913)

    Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time is one of the most entertaining reading experiences in any language and arguably the finest novel of the more »

  • thumbnail

    2. In the Shadow of Young Girls in Flower (1919)

    When publiched, Within a Budding Grove was awarded the Prix Goncourt, bringing the author immediate fame. In this second volume of In Search of Lost more »

  • thumbnail

    3. The Guermantes Way (1921)

    After the relative intimacy of the first two volumes of In Search of Lost Time, Le Côté de Guermantes opens up a vast, dazzling landscape of more »

  • thumbnail

    4. Sodom and Gomorrah (1922)

    The narrator not only depicts the class tensions of a changing France at the beginning of the twentieth century but also exposes the decadence of more »

  • thumbnail

    5. The Captive (1923)

    In The Captive, Proust’s narrator describes living in his mother’s Paris apartment with his lover, Albertine, and subsequently falling out of love with more »

  • thumbnail

    6. The Sweet Cheat Gone (1927)

    Albertine has finally escaped her ‘imprisonment’ from Marcel’s Paris apartment… Not only is Marcel quite unprepared for the effect her flight has on more »

  • thumbnail

    7. Time Regained (1927)

    The final volume of In Search of Lost Time chronicles the years of World War I, when, as M. de Charlus reflects on a moonlit walk, Paris threatens to more »