epubBooks Logo


by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Series Description

Barsoom is a fictional representation of the planet Mars created by American pulp fiction author Edgar Rice Burroughs. The first novel, A Princess of Mars , is followed by ten sequels over a period of three decades, further extending his vision of Barsoom and adding many other characters. The worlds of Burroughs are often cited as inspiration on films such as Avatar, Babylon 5 and Star Wars.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. A Princess of Mars (1917)

    A Princess of Mars is the first of eleven thrilling novels that comprise Edgar Rice Burroughs' most exciting saga, known as The Martian Series. It's the... read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. The Gods of Mars (1918)

    At the end of A PRINCESS OF MARS, the first volume in Burroughs's Mars series, John Carter managed to get the factory that produces oxygen for Barsoom... read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. The Warlord of Mars (1919)

    The Warlord of Mars completes the story begun in A Princess of Mars and continued in The Gods of Mars, finally bringing together John Carter and his... read more »

  • thumbnail

    4. Thuvia, Maid of Mars (1920)

    Mars has become divided by love. Not one, but two princes and a Jeddak are vying for the love of Thuvia of Ptarth. When she is mysteriously kidnapped... read more »

  • thumbnail

    5. The Chessmen of Mars (1922)

    A freak storm on Mars throws Tara, Princess of Helium and beautiful daughter of John Carter, wildly off course after she embarks on an imprudent flight... read more »

  • thumbnail

    6. The Master Mind of Mars (1928)

    Former Earthman Ulysses Paxton served Barsoom's greatest scientist, until his master's ghoulish trade in living bodies drove him to rebellion. Then, to... read more »

  • thumbnail

    7. A Fighting Man of Mars (1931)

    A flying plane dropped out of the night. It seemed a spectral ship. Silently and quickly it landed behind Sanoma Tora and Sil Vagis. Warriors sprang... read more »

  • thumbnail

    8. Swords of Mars (1936)

    John Carter reprises his role of hero as he vows to bring an end to the Assassins Guild. He ventures in disguise to the city of Zodanga in a fierce... read more »

  • thumbnail

    9. Synthetic Men of Mars (1939)

    John Carter, mighty Warlord of Mars, rides to new and terrifying adventures. Captured by deadly warriors mounted on huge birds he is taken to the... read more »

  • thumbnail

    10. Llana of Gathol (1948)

    Llano of Gathol is a collection of four novellas written in the Martian series of Edgar Rice Burroughs. Llano, the daughter of Gahan of Gothol, is the... read more »

  • thumbnail

    11. John Carter of Mars (1942)

    Here is the eleventh, and final, book in Edgar Rice Burroughs' best-selling Martian Series: John Carter is pitted against the infamous Pew Mogel, who... read more »