epubBooks Logo

End of the Chapter

by John Galsworthy

Series Description

In the End of the Chapter trilogy Galsworthy continues the story of the Forsyte’s as the old Victorian society declines further under the onslaught of the Edwardian era. Here he writes about the Cherrells, cousins of the Forsytes, who’s son’s have for centuries left Condaford Grange to serve the state as soldiers, clergymen and administrators, but the 1930’s bring uncertainty in a world of changing values and unemployment. Galsworthy’s grasp of political and social change and its effect on a family, as well as his incisive sense of character, make this a fine trilogy to end the saga.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. Maid in Waiting (1931)

    This sweeping family saga now moves to the lives and loves of the Cherrells in the early 30s, cousins by marriage to the Forsytes. An old English... read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. Flowering Wilderness (1932)

    Dinny Cherrell has been proposed to numerous times. But no one has ever come close to touching her independent spirit. That is, until she encounters... read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. Over the River (1933)

    The institution of marriage, that gives to a man all the rights over a woman, is a theme once again visited by Galsworthy. Clare Charwell has just fled... read more »