Frank Norris 1870—1902

Frank Norris

Benjamin Franklin Norris, Jr. was an American novelist, during the Progressive Era, writing predominantly in the naturalist genre. His notable works include McTeague, The Octopus: A Story of California, and The Pit. Norris’s work often includes depictions of suffering caused by corrupt and greedy turn-of-the-century corporate monopolies. In addition to Zola, Norris’s writing has been compared to that of Stephen Crane, Theodore Dreiser, and Edith Wharton.

Available eBooks


A Deal in Wheat (1903)

The time was late in the summer the place a ranch in southwestern Kansas and Lewiston and his wife were two of a vast population of farmers wheat more »


A Man's Woman (1900)

Our heroine is a girl decidedly out of the ordinary. Dramatic, and containing some tremendous descriptions of the daring of the men who are trying to more »


Blix (1899)

This short romance was based on Norris’s courtship of his wife. It features a San Francisco journalist, Condy Rivers, who falls in love with the more »


McTeague (1899)

This graphic depiction of urban American life centers around McTeague, a dentist practicing in San Francisco at the turn of the 20th century. While at more »


Moran of the Lady Letty (1898)

This is to be a story of a battle, at least one murder, and several sudden deaths. For that reason it begins with a pink tea and among the mingled more »


The Octopus (1901)

The Octopus: A Story of California is a novel about wheat growers who are in conflict with a railroad company during late 19th century California. The more »


The Pit (1903)

The story of Frank Norris’s The Pit could be taken from today’s headlines: a businessman begins speculating in the commodities market on a small scale more »


Vandover and the Brute (1914)

The setting of the story is San Francisco in the 1890s. Vandover, fresh out of college and the son of a wealthy owner of slum properties, has dreams of more »