Leatherstocking Tales

by James Fenimore Cooper

Series Description

The Leatherstocking Tales is a series of novels by American writer James Fenimore Cooper, set between 1740 and 1804. Each title featuring the main hero Natty Bumppo, known by European settlers as “Leatherstocking”, “The Pathfinder”, and “the trapper” and by the Native Americans as “Deerslayer”, “La Longue Carabine” and “Hawkeye”. The Natty Bumppo character is generally believed to have been inspired, at least in part, by the real-life Daniel Boone.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. The Deerslayer (1841)

    Set in 1740 during the French and Indian Wars, The Deerslayer testifies to the murderous humanity and natural beauty on which the history of America was...read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. The Last of the Mohicans (1826)

    While the French and Indians besiege Fort William Henry, Cora and Alice Munro, daughters of the English commander, are on their way to join him. They ar...read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. Pathfinder (1840)

    Vigorous, self-reliant, amazingly resourceful, and moral, Natty Bumppo is the prototype of the Western hero. A faultless arbiter of wilderness justice, ...read more »

  • thumbnail

    4. The Pioneers (1823)

    Although The Pioneers was first of the “Leatherstocking” books to be published, the period of time covered (principally 1793) makes it the fourth chrono...read more »

  • thumbnail

    5. The Prairie (1827)

    The final novel in Cooper’s epic Leatherstocking Tales, filled with excitement and thrill, which follows the adventures of Natty Bumppo and Dr. Bat, the...read more »