epubBooks Logo

W. E. Johns 1893—1968

W. E. Johns

William Earl Johns was an English First World War pilot, and writer of adventure stories, usually written under the pen name Capt. W. E. Johns, and the creator of the fictional air-adventurer Biggles. In his 46-year writing career he penned over 160 books, including nearly one hundred Biggles books, more than sixty other novels and factual books, and scores of magazine articles and short stories. The first Biggles book, The Camels are Coming (a reference to the Sopwith Camel aeroplane), was published in August 1932 and Johns would continue to write Biggles stories until his death in 1968.

Available eBooks


Biggles in Mexico (1959)

Biggles and Ginger, are sent to Mexico by Air Commodore Raymond in an attempt to trace the whereabouts of a stash of diamonds that have been stolen by a... read more »


Biggles in the Blue (1953)

Biggles is sent to Jamaica to recover a cache of secret papers -- blueprints of German secret weapons under development at the end of World War II... read more »


Biggles in the Cruise of the Condor (1933)

Biggles and Algy visit the elderly Dickpa only to find his English house under armed siege by a gang allied to Silas Blattner who are determined that... read more »


Biggles in the Orient (1945)

The war supply route between Calcutta and China is vital but something is attacking the planes that fly it. One by one pilots set off, only to... read more »


Biggles Learns to Fly (1935)

This is the story of the very beginning - of the Air Service and of Biggles. It's the First World War and Biggles is just 17. The planes are primitive... read more »


Biggles of the Camel Squadron (1934)

A new squadron member joins Biggles' Squadron. He is Henry Watkins and he believes that the laws of mathematics have a solution for most aerial... read more »