epubBooks Logo

Alice B. Emerson 1913—1934

Alice B. Emerson is a pseudonym used by the Stratemeyer Syndicate for the Betty Gordon and Ruth Fielding series of children’s novels. The writers taking up the pen of Alice B. Emerson are not all known. However, books 1-19 of the Ruth Fielding series were written by W. Bert Foster; books 20-22 were written by Elizabeth M. Duffield Ward, and books 23-30 were written by Mildred A. Wirt Benson.

Available eBooks


Betty Gordon at Boarding School (1921)

The girl, who was watching a wiry little bay horse contentedly crop grass that grew in straggling whisps about the fence posts, looked up and showed an... read more »


Betty Gordon at Bramble Farm (1920)

Betty Gordon is an orphan who becomes the ward of Richard Gordon, her uncle. Since Uncle Dick has to travel on business, he sends Betty to Bramble Farm... read more »


Betty Gordon at Mountain Camp (1922)

Betty Gordon enjoys a Christmas vacation with the Littell family in Washington. One day, while out shopping, Betty meets an unhappy girl named Ida... read more »


Betty Gordon in the Land of Oil (1920)

Betty Gordon leaves for Oklahoma to see her Uncle Dick with Bob Henderson, who hopes to find his aunts, the Saunders sisters. While they journey on the... read more »


Betty Gordon in Washington (1920)

In this volume Betty goes to the National Capitol to find her uncle and has several unusual adventures. Let me go with you, Betty?" coaxed Bobby... read more »


Ruth Fielding at Briarwood Hall (1913)

Ruth's greatest desire has come true—to attend Briarwood Hall with Helen Cameron. As soon as the girls arrive, they are accosted by Mary Cox, known as... read more »


Ruth Fielding at the War Front (1918)

Ruth continues her work for the Red Cross and is soon transferred to a hospital that is on the war front. Ruth faces the very real danger of possible... read more »


Ruth Fielding Homeward Bound (1919)

A bomb strikes the French hospital in which Ruth is working, and Ruth's shoulder is seriously injured. Ruth is forced to end her work with the Red Cross... read more »


Ruth Fielding In the Red Cross (1918)

Now that the Great War has begun, Ruth and Helen take time off from their sophomore year at Ardmore College in order to devote their time to the Red... read more »


Ruth Fielding of the Red Mill (1913)

Ruth Fielding, a recently-orphaned girl, arrives in Cheslow, New York to live with her uncle, Jabez Potter, at the Red Mill with his housekeeper, Aunt... read more »