Ford Madox Ford 1873—1939

Ford Madox Ford

Ford Madox Ford was an English novelist, poet, critic and editor whose journals, The English Review and The Transatlantic Review, were instrumental in the development of early 20th-century English literature. He is now remembered best for his publications The Good Soldier, the Parade’s End tetralogy and The Fifth Queen trilogy. The Good Soldier is frequently included among the great literature of the 20th century, including the Modern Library 100 Best Novels, The Observer’s “100 Greatest Novels of All Time”, and The Guardian’s “1000 novels everyone must read”.

Available eBooks


A Man Could Stand Up (1926)

The third volume of Ford Madox Ford’s highly-regarded tetralogy Parade’s End, chronicles the life of Christopher Tietjens, “the last Tory”, a brilliant more »


Last Post (1928)

Last Post, the fourth and final volume of Parade’s End, is set on a single post-war summer’s day. Valentine Wannop and Christopher Tietjens share a more »


No More Parades (1925)

No More Parades is the second novel in Ford Madox Ford’s series of four novels depicting the meeting, courtship, and ultimate fulfillment of two modern more »


Some Do Not... (1924)

With his acclaimed masterpiece Parade’s End, Ford Madox Ford set himself a work of immense scale and ambition: “I wanted the Novelist in fact to appear more »


The Fifth Queen (1906)

Kat Howard–intelligent, beautiful, naively outspoken, and passionately idealistic–catches the eye of Henry VIII and improbably becomes his fifth wife. more »


The Good Soldier (1915)

Handsome, wealthy, and a veteran of service in India, Captain Edward Ashburnham appears to be the ideal “good soldier” and the embodiment of English more »