Andrew Lang Fairy Books

by Andrew Lang

Series Description

Andrew Lang’s coloured Fairy Books constitute a twelve-volume series of fairy tale collections. Although Lang didn’t collect the stories from the oral tradition himself, he can make claim to the first English translation of many, which are often cited as inspiration to J.R. Tolken and his Middle-Earth novels.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. The Blue Fairy Book (1889)

    It is almost impossible to envision what childhood would be like without the enchanting world of fairyland. Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, giants more »

  • thumbnail

    2. The Red Fairy Book (1890)

    In a second gleaning of the fields of Fairy Land we cannot expect to find a second Perrault. But there are good stories enough left, and it is hoped more »

  • thumbnail

    3. The Green Fairy Book (1892)

    These collections are specifically intended for children, and consequently edited for that end. When Andrew began publishing these books there were more »

  • thumbnail

    4. The Yellow Fairy Book (1894)

    A collection of traditional fairy tales from the folklore of Russia, Germany, France, Iceland, and America. Includes original 138 black-and-white more »

  • thumbnail

    5. The Pink Fairy Book (1897)

    For this collection, Andrew Lang gathered Danish, Swedish, Sicilian, African, Catalan, Japanese, German, and French stories. While the stories may not more »

  • thumbnail

    6. The Grey Fairy Book (1900)

    These tales are derived from many countries; Lithuania, various parts of Africa, Germany, France, Greece, and other regions of the world. They have more »

  • thumbnail

    7. The Violet Fairy Book (1901)

    For this collection, Andrew Lang gathered African, Scandinavian, Egyptian and even Babylonian stoires. While they may not be familiar to you, they are more »

  • thumbnail

    8. The Crimson Fairy Book (1903)

    Each Fairy Book demands a preface from the Editor, and these introductions are inevitably both mono-tonous and unavailing. A sense of literary honesty more »

  • thumbnail

    9. The Brown Fairy Book (1904)

    The stories in this Fairy Book come from all quarters of the world. For example, the adventures of ‘Ball-Carrier and the Bad One’ are told by Red more »

  • thumbnail

    10. The Orange Fairy Book (1906)

    In this volume there are stories from the natives of Rhodesia, collected by Mr. Fairbridge, who speaks the native language, and one is brought by Mr. more »

  • thumbnail

    11. The Olive Fairy Book (1907)

    The Olive Fairy Book contains eight Punjabi tales, five from Armenia, 16 other stories from Turkey, Denmark, the Sudan, and more. An enchanting world more »

  • thumbnail

    12. The Lilac Fairy Book (1910)

    The twelfth in Andrew Lang’s Fairy Book series containing 33 tales from Portugal, Ireland, Wales and points East and West, among them “The Brown Bear more »