Lester Dent 1904—1959

Lester Dent

Lester Dent was an American pulp-fiction author, best known as the creator and main author of the series of novels about the superhuman scientist and adventurer, Doc Savage. The 159 novels written over 16 years were credited to the house name Kenneth Robeson. Dent’s Master Fiction Plot, often referred to as the Lester Dent Formula is a widely circulated guide to writing a saleable 6,000-word pulp story and has been recommended to aspiring authors by Michael Moorcock, among others.

Available eBooks


Fear Cay (1934)

It was all a great mystery. Who was this man called Dan Thunden who claimed he was one hundred and thirty years old? Did he really have the secret of th...read more »


Mad Mesa (1939)

In one of the most masterly of Doc Savage adventures, the Man of Bronze awakens to discover that he’s in another man’s body and imprisoned in a penitent...read more »


Meteor Menace (1934)

Doc Savage and his fabulous crew journey to Tibet in pursuit of their most dangerous adversary, the evil genius Mo-Gwei. Battling against overwhelming o...read more »


The Annihilist (1934)

The dread Annihilist was slaughtering the criminals of New York in wholesale lots. Hundreds of men were found mysteriously murdered, victims of the hide...read more »


The Man of Bronze (1933)

High above the skyscrapers of New York, Doc Savage engages in deadly combat with the red-fingered survivors of an ancient, lost civilization. Then, with...read more »


The Mystery on the Snow (1934)

In one of his most important adventures, the Man of Bronze journeys north to Canada, and in her magnificent wilderness solves a billion-dollar riddle: W...read more »


The Mystic Mullah (1935)

It was an ageless thing that had existed since the beginning of time – a monstrous green face that spoke sudden death. With its legions of ghostly, nebu...read more »


The Phantom City (1933)

Arabian thieves led by the diabolically clever Molallet set one fiendish trap after another for Doc Savage and his mighty five. Only “Doc”, with his sup...read more »


The Polar Treasure (1933)

Menaced by “the strange clicking danger,” Doc Savage and his fabulous five-man army take a desperate journey on a polar submarine in search of a missing...read more »


The Stone Man (1939)

Doc Savage and his fearless friends find a black arrowhead that leads a trail to the treacherous Spad Ames in the Arizona Badlands. There they encounter...read more »


The Terror in the Navy (1937)

A bizarre dictator unleashes a deadly force against the United States Navy: the mightiest vessels in the U.S. armada are sunk; warplanes are pulled from...read more »


The Thousand-Headed Man (1934)

With a mysterious black Chinaman, Doc Savage and his amazing crew journey to the jungles of Indo-China in a desperate gamble to destroy the infamous Tho...read more »