epubBooks Logo

Allan Quatermain

by H. Rider Haggard

Series Description

Allan Quatermain is the protagonist of H. Rider Haggard’s novel King Solomon’s Mines and its various prequels and sequels. Quatermain is an English-born professional big game hunter and occasional trader in southern Africa. He supports colonial efforts to spread civilization in the Dark Continent, and he also favours native Africans’ having a say in their affairs. Quatermain is also the inspiration behind Steven Spielberg’s “Indiana Jones” movie trilogy.

This list is built from the chronological sequence of the Quatermain stories.

All ebooks from this series are available

  • thumbnail

    1. Marie (1912)

    Before there was Indiana Jones there was Allan Quartermain: the original explorer, treasure hunter, and adventurer. The Quartermain books have... read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. Allan's Wife (1889)

    It may be remembered that in the last pages of his diary, written just before his death, Allan Quatermain makes allusion to his long dead wife, stating... read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. Child of Storm (1913)

    Allan Quatermain, continues to indulge his penchant for globe-trotting adventure in a tumultuous journey across Africa. Upon his arrival, he discovers... read more »

  • thumbnail

    4. A Tale of Three Lions (1887)

    In this thrilling tale of danger and adventure, young Harry joins his father, the famous Alan Quatermain, on a hunt for lions deep in Africa. This... read more »

  • thumbnail

    5. Maiwa's Revenge (1888)

    Allan Quatermain has determined to go farther afield than he had ever traveled before, into the depths of the African jungle -- on a march inland to the... read more »

  • thumbnail

    6. Hunter Quatermain's Story (1885)

    Quartermain (the main character from the many adventures found in the Alan Quartermain series) was a progressive Victorian big game hunter in Africa who... read more »

  • thumbnail

    7. Long Odds (1886)

    The story which is narrated in the following pages came to me from the lips of my old friend Allan Quatermain, or Hunter Quatermain, as we used to call... read more »

  • thumbnail

    8. Allan and the Holy Flower (1915)

    Allan and the Holy Flower is a 1915 novel by H. Rider Haggard featuring Allan Quatermain. It first appeared serialised in The Windsor Magazine. Brother... read more »

  • thumbnail

    9. Heu-Heu (1924)

    Allan Quatermain is confronted with the legend of the Heu-Heu, a monster who eats humans, while sheltering from a thunderstorm in the Drakensberg... read more »

  • thumbnail

    10. She and Allan (1921)

    Allan Quartermain -- our hero -- and Ayesha (that is, She Who Must Be Obeyed) share the limelight in this great adventure, but oddly enough considering... read more »

  • thumbnail

    11. The Treasure Of The Lake (1926)

    Treasure and the occult are vividly blended in this stirring tale of Africa. Allan Quatermain finds a village in the middle of the Dark Continent ruled... read more »

  • thumbnail

    12. The Ivory Child (1916)

    Get set for adventure with this rip-roaring tale from action-fantasy master H. Rider Haggard. The Ivory Child sees intrepid explorer Allan Quatermain... read more »

  • thumbnail

    13. Finished (1917)

    This book, although it can be read as a separate story, is the third of the trilogy of which Marie and Child of Storm are the first two parts. It... read more »

  • thumbnail

    14. Magepa the Buck (1879)

    To return to old Magepa. I had known him for many years. The first time we met was in the battle of the Tugela. I was fighting for the king's son... read more »

  • thumbnail

    15. King Solomon's Mines (1885)

    Following the disappearance of his brother, Sir Henry Curtis tracks down Allan Quartermain, a trader and hunter who knows Africa as well as any white... read more »

  • thumbnail

    16. The Ancient Allan (1920)

    Sitting beside entrancing Lady Ragnall while the smoke of an ancient Egyptian herb grows thick around them, Allan Quatermain finds himself departing the... read more »

  • thumbnail

    17. Allan and the Ice Gods (1927)

    Once more Quatermain takes the hallucinogenic drug and gets to see a previous incarnation of himself--a life he lived thousands of years ago, when he... read more »

  • thumbnail

    18. Allan Quatermain (1887)

    Before there was Indiana Jones there was Allan Quartermain: the original explorer, treasure hunter, and adventurer. In this sequel to King Solomon's... read more »