epubBooks Logo

Waverley Novels

by Walter Scott

Series Description

The Waverley Novels are a series of books by Sir Walter Scott, regarded as the first historical novels in the western tradition, and for nearly a century the most widely-read novels in Europe. As recommended by the New York Times, this epubBooks series is listed in “chronological order, that is, the oldest in date to begin with. No one novel is a sequel to another, but the scenes portrayed are fitting to the time in which they are laid, and many being historical, following in order of time is serviceable to fasten events in memory.

15 ebooks from 27 titles available

  • thumbnail

    1. Count Robert of Paris (1832)

    Sir Walter Scott was a master of diverse talents. He was a man of letters, a dedicated historian and historiographer, a well-read translator of foreign... read more »

  • thumbnail

    2. The Betrothed (1825)

    Set at the time of the Third Crusade (1189-92), The Betrothed is the first of Scott's Tales of the Crusaders, and although set in the Welsh Marches it... read more »

  • thumbnail

    3. The Talisman (1825)

    The Talisman is Sir Walter Scott's tale of the Crusades -- a tale of chivalry, of violence, of virtue, romance, and deceit. In Scott's own words... read more »

  • thumbnail

    4. Ivanhoe (1819)

    In Ivanhoe, Scott fashioned an imperial myth of national cultural identity that has shaped the popular imagination ever since its first appearance at... read more »

  • thumbnail

    11. Kenilworth (1821)

    Scott's imagination created Kenilworth, a romance novel of conflicting characters. He has brought to life the character of Queen Elizabeth with the most... read more »

  • thumbnail

    17. Old Mortality (1816)

    Set in 1679 during the Scottish populist rebellion known as the Covenanter uprising, The Tale of Old Mortality is one of the outstanding historical... read more »

  • thumbnail

    18. The Pirate (1822)

    Based on the life of notorious pirate John Gow, The Pirate takes place on the island of Shetland around the year 1700. The shipwrecked Captain... read more »

  • thumbnail

    19. The Black Dwarf (1816)

    The Black Dwarf, is set in the Liddesdale hills, an area which Scott knew intimately from the time he had spent hunting ballads for his Minstrelsy of... read more »

  • thumbnail

    20. The Bride of Lammermoor (1819)

    Dark prophecies and ominously symbolic events beset the romance of Edgar, Master of Ravenswood, and Lucy Ashton, daughter of the man who has displaced... read more »

  • thumbnail

    21. Rob Roy (1817)

    Rob Roy is set in 1715-16, yet it concerns not the conduct of the Jacobite Rising, but the economic and social conditions which gave rise to it. It... read more »

  • thumbnail

    22. The Heart of Midlothian (1818)

    This novel, regarded as one of Scott's finest, opens with the Edinburgh riots of 1736. The people have been infuriated by the actions of John Porteous... read more »

  • thumbnail

    23. Waverley (1814)

    Waverley is set during the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745, which sought to restore the Stuart dynasty in the person of Charles Edward Stuart (or 'Bonnie... read more »

  • thumbnail

    24. Guy Mannering (1815)

    Guy Mannering is set in the exotic highlands of Scotland, this is an interesting novel by Walter Scott. Narrating the story of Harry and his adventures... read more »

  • thumbnail

    25. Redgauntlet (1824)

    Set in 1765 in the fictitious third Jacobite rebellion, Redgauntlet tells of Darsie Latimer, a student of law who becomes embroiled in a plot to put... read more »

  • thumbnail

    26. The Antiquary (1816)

    The Antiquary completes the series of books dealing with social manners of Scotland. Waverly embraced the age of our fathers. Guy Mannering that of our... read more »